Sawtooth Mountains

Natural Attractions icon.

The Sawtooth Range is a mountain range of the Rocky Mountains in central Idaho reaching a maximum elevation of 10,751 feet at the summit of Thompson Peak. It encompasses an area of 678 square miles. There are 57 peaks with an elevation over 10,000 feet in the Sawtooth Range, all between 10,000 to 10,751 feet in elevation.

The Sawtooth Range and Wilderness are home to nearly 400 lakes created by receding alpine glaciers. Not surprisingly, this striking mountain landscape was a favorite playground of Ernest Hemingway, who is buried in the Ketchum area.

The Sawtooth National Recreation Area (Sawtooth NRA) consists of 756,000 acres of scenic mountain country and includes over 700 miles of trails, 40 peaks rising over 10,000 feet and more than 300 high mountain lakes that add to the spectacular scenery and vistas. Outdoor recreational pursuits include camping, hiking, backpacking, fishing, boating and canoeing, rafting, observing nature, photography and bicycling.

USDA Forest Service: Sawtooth National Recreation Area

Things To Know

  • World class fishing, hiking, mountain climbing, nature trails, wildlife viewing, mountain biking, birdwatching, canoeing, kayaking, and whitewater boating.
  • The Sawtooth National Recreation Area has many miles of groomed cross country ski, backcountry skiing, snowshoe trails and snowmobile trails.

Tips for Traveling in Idaho

There's so much to explore in Idaho, but where should you begin? Check out our weekly travel tips and start planning your next adventure.